Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

Albion now has a CALENDAR!

Well, sort of. It’s hardly a fancy one. I just came up with some month names (12 in all) and figured out how many days would go in each. Oh, and I gave a birthday to every frackin’ character I have. (Go check out the profile pages if you don’t believe me!) Well, except for the dead ones. I drew the line there.

But you know what this means, right? Every single post from now on is going to have a date. Which means …

  • No more wondering how far apart two events are in time.
  • No more wondering how pregnant somebody is (provided there was an announcement around the beginning of the pregnancy)
  • No more wondering when in the Lord Wright’s name somebody is going to grow up already. Er, in a physical sense. Some characters may never get there in a mental sense …

I also came up with some holidays and feast days. If anybody has ideas for more, I am welcome to hearing them! I just have a rough list to start with.

And there are going to be some changes, other than the fact that there’s going to be a shiny date at the top of every new post. Instead of ages, you’ll notice, I put dates of birth (DOB) on the profile pages. I figured that will be more useful going forward, so you’ll know exactly how old so-and-so was in a certain post. To the day. Isn’t that awesome?

Anyway, new year and new round begins next post! If you’re curious about the new calendar, go have a look at the shiny new page! (Under The Realm of Albion, if you’d rather use the top bar or sidebar.) And have a wonderful morning/afternoon/evening/night! πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes!

  1. Yaaaaay for calendars! πŸ˜€

    I love the names of the months and all the various holidays. Also curious as to whether or not there’s a conversion formula between the Albion calendar, if only because I want to know what my birthday would be in Albion πŸ™‚

    • Conversion formula? Ah, Van, didn’t you read the calendar page? The Demigoddess doesn’t like that kind of math. πŸ˜‰

      Of course, you could do what I did — which is to figure out your birth month in Albion (July, so Hybel for me), add that to the date (15 for me) and call that your Albionese birthday. If your birthday is on a 31st in a month that doesn’t have a 31st … um … well, pick whether you want to be the last day of the previous month or the first day of the next month? Maybe?

      But thanks! I’m glad you liked the holidays — those took some head-scratching! I do wonder how many people will get the references, though. I think some of them were almost clever. πŸ˜‰

      • Heheh… I love math, so I just whipped up a spreadsheet for a conversion using July 15=Hybel 15 as a starting point XD

        It is more or less consistent with Month=Month, only with a couple days’ distortion due to the distribution of days. My birthday, for example, clocks out as January 3=Imsdyn 5. July is almost fully consistent with Hybel, except for the last day, which is Lenona 1; there’s an identical occurrence with May/Seryl, and again with March/Clatan.

        • Huh. Looks like Ella Thatcher-Pelles has the same birthday as me. So does Nora from Naroni, fun fact (probably how she ended up gaining prominence XD).

          Aww, baby Marty πŸ™‚ I knew they’d name him for his ill-fated grandpa!

      • Baby Marty was either going to be Marty or Martina, so yeah, that baby was due to be named for Martin. We’ll see if Ella gets her wish for “Jeremina” on the next baby. πŸ˜‰

        Ah! I wouldn’t have even thought to try to make a conversion chart based on that — I would have gone the opposite way, and started as January 1 = Imsdyn 1 and figured things out from there. But yours makes more sense, given what I selected to be the biggest party of the year. πŸ˜‰

        LOL! I need to check through your profile pages and see if anybody has the same birthday as me. However, I don’t *think* any Albionese do … I would have almost certainly noticed that. Almost … when you come up with all these birthdays in a single evening, they do tend to run together in your head. πŸ˜‰

  2. Wow! Thumbs way up!
    I like how you did all this. The feast days amuse me. ^^ I really really like how you incorporate things from the game into the story! I think it’s awesome!

    I’m also vastly amused that I share a birthday with Heloise XD (as Van found out for me). So she’d be a Libra in our world, huh? Somehow I’m not surprised. ^^ And yet I would never have guessed.

    • Tee hee, thanks Ann! Glad you found the feast days funny — they were meant for a laugh. πŸ™‚ Especially the Feast of Free Will. Oh, the things Sims do when we walk away from the computer for five minutes …

      Huh! I don’t really do astrology myself, so I never would have thought to figure out my characters’ real star signs. But it’s awesome that you and Heloise share a birthday! At least you’re willing to share it. πŸ˜‰ If Heloise was in a bad mood, she might not.

      (And hey, at least you’re not sharing it with Babette!)

      Thanks, Ann!

    • I have a rough idea of ages based on how many days a character has in his/her current life stage. (I use Hat’s aging mod.) And since I use 4-day seasons, I can assign a day & month of birth based on what day of the season a Sim was born on. (So day 1 Imsdyn-Clatan, day 2 Tyves-Ververe, etc.) Other than that, things really just happen when I say they happen.

      • Oh *reading through Hat’s looong post* okay I see the idea of age calculation and all that stuff now. I was kind of trying to avoid downloading any age mods, but it’s almost impossible to calculate anything with the age system that came with the game. Ah, sigh.
        Thanks for the reply anyway – nevertheless it was useful πŸ™‚

Leave a comment